LEED Certifications/Requirements

LEED lighting

LEED: Lighting from Focal Point Can Maximize Your
Certification Potential

The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification system, developed by the US Green Building Council (USGBC), assigns points for meeting a wide range of goals to minimize the environmental impacts of building design, construction and maintenance.

Projects can qualify for LEED certification in one of five categories, each with its own points system:

  • Building Design and Construction
  • Interior Design and Construction
  • Building Operations and Maintenance
  • Neighborhood Development
  • Homes

Levels of LEED certification – Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinum – are awarded based on the total number of points obtained within the relevant category. Although specific products are not required by LEED, lighting from Focal Point can help contribute to the total certification points earned.

Under LEED v4, launched in 2013, appropriately designed lighting and the use of lighting controls can directly contribute to meeting baseline requirements and earning up to 21 points in the Building Design and Construction category:

Sustainable Sites – Light Pollution Reduction

1 point

Energy & Atmosphere – Minimum Energy Performance


Energy & Atmosphere – Optimize Energy Performance

1–18 points

Indoor Environmental Quality – Interior Lighting (Control & Quality)

1–2 points

While not directly contributing to LEED certification, lighting design and control can also play a role in meeting these criteria:

Energy & Atmosphere – Fundamental Commissioning and Verification


Energy & Atmosphere – Enhanced Commissioning

3–4 points

Energy & Atmosphere – Advanced Energy Metering

1 point

Energy & Atmosphere – Demand Response

1–2 points

Indoor Environmental Quality – Daylight

1–3 points